LibGuides: Blue Hill Regional Technical High School Library: Resources for Teachers

Information Literacy Resources

Checkology
Can your students tell the difference between fact and fiction? The Checkology Virtual Classroom can help. Basic access is free.
ProCon
This website presents the pros and cons of controversial issues.
Newseum Ed
The First Amendment & Media Literacy Education
AllSides For Schools
News Literacy. Civil Dialogue. Life Skills
Media Bias Chart
This graphic charts various media sources on two axes: left-right political leaning, and fact-based objectivity.

Science Resources

Discovery Education
Set up an account to access videos, articles, lessons and more. See Ms Dynan or IT for the school passcode.
NOVA: Gross Science
A collection of tools, strategies, and media resources produced by NOVA and PBS Digital Studios and funded by WGBH.

Social Studies Resources

9/11 Memorial
Provides an interactive timeline, primary sources, lesson plans and answers to FAQs.
DocsTeach
Provides hands-on access to thousands of primary sources including letters, photographs, speeches, posters, maps, videos, and other document types. The resources span the course of American history and include an ever-expanding collection of document-based activities created by the National Archives.
National Constitution Center
A series of educational videos that discuss elements of the Constitution and bring America’s democracy and the stories of “We the People” to life.
Constitutional Foundations and Principles of Government
Lesson plans provided by C-SPAN Classroom that incorporate short video clips addressing topics like enumerated and implied powers of Congress, interpretation of the Constitution, and checks and balances.
Facing History and Ourselves
Mission of this website: Facing History and Ourselves uses lessons of history to challenge teachers and their students to stand up to bigotry and hate.

English Language Arts Resources

Read Write Think
Provides free materials for reading and language arts instruction.
Read Works
Provides tools that focus on reading comprehension.

News and Newspapers

PBS NewsHour Extra
News for Students and Teacher Resources
6–12 Grade Level
The New York Times
Enjoy unlimited online access (with no advertising) to The New York Times, courtesy of Verizon.
The New York Times Learning Network
Teach with The New York Times. This site provides free lesson plans for teachers and activities for students. Includes resources for ELA, Social Studies, ELL & Arts, Science & Math and Current Events.
Boston Herald in Education
Teachers can subscribe for free. Subscription includes access to the Boston Herald e-Edition as well as lesson plans that are updated weekly. You can search archives, read back issues, print and email stories.
Logon to the e-Edition of Boston Herald.
Teacher and students access the e-Edition using one class username and password.

Lesson Plan Resources

Resources from PBS LearningMedia:

Professional Development Resources

PBS LearningMedia
Sharpen your instructional skills with these professional development resources.
Edutopia
Discover formal, informal, ongoing, and job-embedded professional-development programs.

This database provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.

Technology Tools

Free Technology for Teachers by Richard Byrne
Provides a wealth of information about free resources that teachers can use in their classrooms.
G Suite Learning Center
Learn by product
CamScanner
Turn your phone or tablet into a scanner for document management.

Tools to Create

Canva
Use this tool to design infographics, flyers, brochures, certificates, menus and more.
WordArt
An online word cloud art creator that allows you to easily create fun and unique word cloud art .
Powtoon
Create impressive videos and presentations.
SlidesCarnival
Free Powerpoint templates, Google Slides themes and Canva templates for your presentations

Image Resources

Pics 4 Learning
Provides copyright-friendly photos and illustrations for classroom projects, web sites, videos, portfolios, or any other projects in an educational setting.
Reshot
A searchable collection of photos that can be used as you wish.
Photos for Class
Provides free images suitable for school use. Downloaded images automatically cite the author and the image license terms.
Pixabay
Pixabay is a community of people who share copyright free images and videos. All contents are released under the Pixabay License, which makes them safe to use without asking for permission or giving credit to the artist.
Google Images
Use the "usage rights" drop down box to narrow your search to images that are free to use.

Digital Libraries

Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. Sign up for a virtual library card to access these resources.