Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gale Health and Wellness
Offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Provides contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Science in Context
Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health
Provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. Offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine
Provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of fitness and sports. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
Pics 4 Learning
Provides copyright-friendly photos and illustrations for classroom projects, web sites, videos, portfolios, or any other projects in an educational setting.
A searchable collection of photos that can be used as you wish.
Photos for Class
Provides free images suitable for school use. Downloaded images automatically cite the author and the image license terms.
Pixabay is a community of people who share copyright free images and videos. All contents are released under the Pixabay License, which makes them safe to use without asking for permission or giving credit to the artist.
Use the "usage rights" drop down box to narrow your search to images that are free to use.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
CDC 24/7: Saving Lives, Protecting People. CDC increases the health security of our nation. As the nation’s health protection agency, CDC saves lives and protects people from health threats. CDC conducts critical science and provides health information that protects our nation against expensive and dangerous health threats, and responds when these arise.
Provides consumer health information for various diseases, conditions and wellness topics, along with the latest health news, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, and information on prescription and over-the counter medications. Provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
PubMed Online Training
Provides tutorials on how to search for articles, get the full text, set email alerts and more.
PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).The PubMed database contains more than 32 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. Citations may include links to full-text articles.
The Joint Commission (TJC)
The Joint Commission seeks to continuously improve health care for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating health care organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value. The Joint Commission accredits and certifies more than 22,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States, including hospitals and health care organizations that provide ambulatory and office-based surgery, behavioral health, home health care, laboratory and nursing care center services.
National Patient Safety Goals (NPSG)
Part of The Joint Commission. Provides links to safety standards.
National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN)
An independent, not-for-profit organization through which nursing regulatory bodies act and counsel together on matters of common interest and concern affecting public health, safety and welfare, including the development of nursing licensure examinations.
Massachusetts Board of Registration in Nursing (Mass BORN)
Protects the health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth through the fair and consistent application of the statutes and regulations that govern nursing practice and nursing education.
Healthy People 2030
Healthy People identifies public health priorities to help individuals, organizations, and communities across the United States improve health and well-being. Healthy People 2030, the initiative’s fifth iteration, builds on knowledge gained over the first 4 decades.
Offers many tools for building healthy eating habits. Provided by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Formatting Your Research Paper
Perdue Online Writing Law (OWL) - APA Style
APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.